Sign inSign in with Facebook
Sign inSign in with Google

2018 CCFOA Exam

Your name?
Your email address?
By rule, there can be no pass interference when a forward pass does not cross the neutral zone.
True
False
By rule, if an eligible receiver is interfered with behind the neutral zone it is pass interference if a forward pass crosses the neutral zone.
True
False
A88 is blocked from the front above the waist 20 yards downfield knocking him to the ground. The blocking is not targeting. A12 throws a forward pass after this block which lands at the feet of A88. Ruling: DPI
True
False
4/10 B45. K’s punt is caught by R80 in B’s end zone. B80 runs the kick back for a TD. Ruling: TD
True
False
4/10 A20. K’s punt bounces 5 yards beyond the neutral zone and bounces back behind the line of scrimmage. K12 picks up the ball behind the line of scrimmage and advances to the 50-yard line where he is tackled. Ruling: 1/10 for K at the 50-yard line.
True
False
A12’s pass is backward. Ball is recovered inbounds by B80 who runs for a TD. Ruling: TD
True
False
A12 is back to pass. While his arm is going forward and he has possession of the ball, he is grabbed by the defense and spun around. Due to this defensive contact his pass travels backward and is recovered by B20 inbounds. Ruling: Since A12’s arm was going forward and defensive contact causes the pass to travel backward this is an incomplete forward pass.
True
False
K’s punt is beyond the line of scrimmage when R20 signals for a fair catch. The kick is caught by R80 who runs for a TD. Ruling: Since R80 did not signal this is a TD.
True
False
4th quarter, 0:02 remaining; 3/10 at the 50-yard line. A23 is called for holding at the A40. A12’s legal forward pass is caught by A80 for a TD. B accepts the penalty. Time expires during the play. Ruling: Penalize A from the spot of the foul. A’s ball 3/30 from the A30. Extend the game with an untimed down.
True
False
The only fouls that include an automatic 1st down are roughing the passer, roughing the kicker/holder and roughing the snapper.
True
False
2/10 A20. Team A only has 10 players in the game. Seven A players are on the line of scrimmage. Ruling: Legal play
True
False
A20 breaks the plane of his goal line with the ball in his right hand. The ball is outside the pylon when A20 runs into the endzone. A20 does not touch out of bounds. Ruling: TD
True
False
K’s onside kick is rolling on the turf when it is touched by K40 8 yards downfield. R45 picks up the ball and returns it 20 yards and fumbles the ball. K80 picks the fumble up a runs for a TD. There are no fouls on the play. Ruling: TD
True
False
R89 attempts to catch K’s punt which is beyond the line of scrimmage, but muffs the ball which then hits the turf. K80 picks the ball up at the R20 yard line and runs to the R5 yard line. Ruling: 1/goal for K at the R5.
True
False
R80 is standing in his endzone and catches K’s punt by reaching over the goal line. The entire ball is in the field of play. Ruling: Ball remains in play
True
False
A12 throws a pass toward B’s end zone. A80 controls the pass while he is airborne. A80’s first contact is when his foot touches the endzone pylon. His 2nd foot comes down inbounds in the endzone. The ball has broken the plane of the endzone inside the pylon. Ruling: Incomplete pass. The pylon is out of bounds.
True
False
Targeting is an automatic disqualification.
True
False
QB A12 is 1-yard line away from the sideline. He then throws a forward pass that crosses the line of scrimmage while being chased by B20. There are no eligible receivers in the area. Ruling: Not intentional grounding as QB is out of pocket and pass crossed the line if scrimmage.
True
False
K’s free kick is in flight and is touched while in flight 20 yards downfield. There are no R players in the area. Ruling: Kick catch interference
True
False
If the play above is a scrimmage kick this play is legal.
True
False
Team A is behind by 2 points. Time expires during this play in the 4th quarter. A’s pass falls incomplete. B20 is called for a dead ball late hit on the play. Ruling: Penalize Team B and extend the game
True
False
4/20 from the A20 yard line. A12’s forward pass has crossed the line of scrimmage. B80 commits DPI. A’s pass falls incomplete. Ruling: Penalize team B 15 yards from the previous spot. A’s ball 4/5 from the A35 yard line.
True
False
Tight end A80 runs ten yards downfield and blocks B20 knocking him to the ground prior to A’s pass being in flight. A12 then throws a forward pass which fall incomplete beyond the line of scrimmage. Ruling: Legal play since the pass was not in flight when contact occurred.
True
False
A20 is running near the sideline when he fumbles the ball. B20 has one foot on the ground out of bounds when he recovers A’s fumble. The ball is entirely inbounds when B20 controls the ball on the ground inbounds. Ruling: A’s ball at the spot of recovery. B’s has put the ball out of bounds due to his foot being out of bounds when he touched the ball.
True
False
R20 is attempting to catch K’s punt at the R5. He muffs the ball which then hits the ground the 3-yard line. The ball rolls into the endzone where it is recovered by K80. Ruling: Touchdown
True
False
B20 intercepts A’s forward pass at his own 3-yard line. B20’s momentum carries him into the end zone where he is tackled. Ruling: Team B’s ball, 1/10 at the B3.
True
False
4/10 A10. K’s punt is blocked and goes out of bounds over K’s end line. Ruling: Safety
True
False
Runner A20’s forward progress is stopped inbounds 5 yards short of the line to gain. A20 is then driven backward and out of bounds. Ruling: Stop clock as A20 is out of bounds.
True
False
A12’s throws a backward pass which hits the ground. B20 picks up the ball and runs for a TD. Ruling: No TD, incomplete pass.
True
False
A35 is 10 yards beyond the neutral zone when he attempts to throw a backward pass to A40. The pass travels forward and hits the ground. Ruling: Flag A35 for an illegal forward pass. Even though the pass was forward the ball continues in play as it was thrown while A35 was beyond the neutral zone.
True
False
{"name":"2018 CCFOA Exam - Take the Quiz", "url":"https://www.quiz-maker.com/Q6SSB4K","txt":"Your name?, Your email address?, By rule, there can be no pass interference when a forward pass does not cross the neutral zone.","img":"https://www.quiz-maker.com/3012/images/ogquiz.png"}